Arunachal Pradesh

National Rural Health Mission Government of Arunachal Pradesh




Geography Tawang district occupies an area of 2,172 square kilometres (839 sq mi), The district is roughly located around latitude 27° 45’ N and longitude 90° 15’ E. Elevations range between 6,000 to 22,000 feet (6,700 m), and inhabitants are found at lower altitude, where they enjoy a cool temperate climate.The district was carved out of the West Kameng district, which adjoins it to the south and east. Bhutan borders Tawang to the west whereas Tibet is to the north of the district. The district occupies an area of 2,085 square kilometres and has a population of 49950 (as of 2011), almost 75% of which are considered "tribal", i.e. belonging to the native Monpa, Bhotia,etc. The sensitivity of the border area brings Tawang a heavy military presence. In winter, Tawang frequently experiences heavy snowfall.

Administrative divisions The district is divided into 3 sub-divisions: Tawang, Lumla and Jang. Tawang sub-division is divided into 2 administrative circles: Tawang and Kitpi. Lumla sub-division is divided into 4 administrative circles: Bongkhar, Dudunghar, Lumla and Zemithang. Jang sub-division is divided into 4 administrative circles: Jang, Mukto, Thingbu and Lhou. There are 3 Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly constituencies in this district: Lumla, Tawang and Mukto which are part of Arunachal West Lok Sabha constituency.

Demographics According to the 2011 census Tawang district has a population of 49,950. The district has a population density of 23 inhabitants per square kilometre (60 /sq mi) . Its population growth rate over the decade 2001–2011 was 28.33%.Tawang has a sex ratio of 701 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 60.61%. A sizeable population of 20,000 live in Tawang town. The dominant ethnic group are the Monpa, who inhabit all of the 163 villages. The Tibetan are also found in small scattered numbers throughout Tawang. Most of the people, which includes the Monpa, Takpa and the Tibetans, are Tibetan Buddhist by religion. Pre-Buddhist Bön and Shamanist influence is also evident. Festivals that include Losar, Choskar, and Torgya are held annually. The Dungyur is also celebrated in every three years of the Torgya. Both the Dungyur and Torgya festivals are celebrated at the Tawang Monastery with traditional gaiety and enthusiasm.

Health Facilities in the District There are 1 DH, 1 CHC, 6 PHCs and 14 SCs in the district (LIST)


District Health Indicators - DLHS-3(Click)

District Health Action Plans and RoP

District Health Action Plan 2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14
District RoP 2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14

T e n d e r s

R e c e n t E v e n t s
G u i d e l i n e s
Contents Provided & Maintained by
Arunachal Pradesh State Health Society, National Rural Health Mission , Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh, Naharlagun-791110
Site Hoisted By National Informatics Centre
Site maintained by State HMIS Cell